The Garden Project Begins

My list of 101 things to do in 1001 days, includes renovating the back garden. So as it is Easter coming up, Mr L and I have been talking about what we could do with the back garden.

Nothing can be worse than the state that it is in right now, it is so bad that I am ashamed to post a picture of it. Our back garden is not that big, but it is a mess. When we first moved in there was a massive fig tree and slabs all over the garden. Mr L removed all of that the first summer that we lived here and laid grass down that is all that has been done in two years. As you can imagine two years later, with a puppy being brought into the house the garden is a bit of a wreck. We tried last year by putting some decking down, which is lovely, but you just don’t want to go out on the decking as the rest of the garden is a mess.

So I have been thinking over the past few days that I would like to make the end of the garden into a vegetable patch. My parents have always grown their own vegetables, and we used to all have to muck in as children. I remember many a night sitting there with mum popping out the broad beans so that she could get them ready to cook. We used to have loads of vegetables, runner beans, beetroot, rhubarb, potatoes, corn on the cob, carrots, onions the lot. We never had to worry about buying vegetables as they where just in the freezer or the shed waiting to be eaten.

It never seemed that difficult, from what I can remember dad went out dug up the ground, planted the seeds and would tend to the garden for a few months, and then the picking began. Easy I thought! How wrong was I!

I spoke to mum about doing a little vegetable patch in the garden and how much fun it would be to get Baba out there when he was a little older. I got a face pulled at me as if I was slightly insane and got asked the question, “do you know how to grow vegetables?”

“Isn’t it quite easy?” Was my reply.

Big mistake, I then got told that I couldn’t just use the soil that was in my garden as our soil is full of clay! I never knew this! I needed to manure the soil, and to buy some good compost before I even thought about gardening, and that I should have started to do this already! She then proceeded to scare me with facts about when you should plant each type of vegetable and what position in the garden they liked and when you should harvest them!

I went back and spoke to Mr L. We did some research on the internet and in a few books about how you should grow your vegetables, and we still think we can do it. We are not going for anything elaborate my all means, but just a small patch. I think this year we may stick to a few things in some pots, or Mr L said we could have some raised beds, so we know exactly what is in the soil.

We are going to have a little look around over the next couple of weeks and see what we find. We have decided that we are going to grow carrots in some pots, but mixed coloured seeds, as we think this could be fun for Baba as he will never know what colour he is picking. So that is certain. Maybe some peppers and parsnips as well, but that will be all. Lets start small and see how we get on!

I will keep you all posted on this, wish me luck!

This is a Sponsored Post
7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. supersinglemum
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 20:25:49

    Good Luck! When I was with my ex we had a patch and one year we grew runner beans, tomatoes, potatoes, cauliflower, leeks and purple sprouting. The only thing that didn’t turn out were the potatoes as we got some potato bug in them – we didn’t do all the research though so you should have success. Last year I grew tomatoes and runner beans successfully and tried Peppers but the tomatoes grew to big and blocked the sun from the peppers (they were in same grow bag). I wouldnt say it’s difficult, just time consuming. Can’t wait to hear how you do!!

    Reply

  2. angelsandurchinsblog
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 20:43:25

    Lots of luck. We’re trying our grow-your-own luck too, in our tiny garden, and hoping that raised beds will work. Last year was a bit of a slug-fest (apart from the strawberries and herbs) so fingers crossed we’ll manage some carrots, lettuces and peas this year.

    Reply

    • andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou
      Apr 01, 2010 @ 10:30:33

      I am hoping to do some strawberries as well, I have been told that hanging baskets are good for growing strawberries in. So I think I will be trying that as we have some hooks for hanging baskets. Good luck with it, hope it goes well.

      Reply

  3. angelsandurchinsblog
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 09:35:27

    I thought I’d left a comment, but my ‘puter might have crashed! Good luck, we’re trying to do the same thing in our (tiny) garden this year. Strawberries did OK last year, lettuces devastated by slugs. HOpefully raised beds and plenty of crushed eggshells will be the answer. Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Livi
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 14:44:14

    Good luck, I hope you get some delicious veggies later in the year from all your hard work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fitness Friday

Creative Writing e-course

British Mummy Bloggers

Slow Cooker Revolution

FlogYoBlog Friday

Judith’s Room

The Secret Post Club

The Gallery

Blog Gems

Dear So And So…

PenPal Club

Writing Workshop

Get Crafty

Play Academy

Silent Sunday

Silent Sunday
