Mint Chocolate Cheesecake

Now I saw this on TV a while back and knew straightaway that I wanted to make it so I searched and searched for the recipe in the end I couldn’t find one. So I made it up. I used a basic cheesecake recipe and added my little chocolate bits.

It doesn’t matter how we got to the end result. Just the fact that the end result is amazing! It is so lovely, you can’t have lots of it though as it is rich, but still it is lovely!

(C) And Then All I Thought About Was You

I just need to tell you that our tin wasn’t big enough so we have a very fat cheesecake, but you get the idea!

Now I have never made a cheesecake before and I was amazed at how easy it was. It is something that I will do again, once I have got the right size tin.

Ingredients:

150g of butter, plus a knob for greasing the tin

200g of Digestive Biscuits, (I have seen this made with chocolate digestives as well, but we didn’t have any)

600g Cream Cheese, I used Philadelphia

150g Caster Sugar

300ml Double Cream

23cm Cake Tin

2 large Mint Aero Bars

A few Mint Matchmakers for the topping

Directions:

1) Grease your tin with the butter.

2) Put your biscuits into a resealable plastic sandwich bag and roll over them and bash them with a rolling-pin until you have fine crumbs.

3) Melt the butter in a pan

4) Add the biscuit crumbs to the pan and mix them into the butter with a wooden spoon until they combine.

5) Remove from the heat and pour the mixture into the cake tin, pushing it down so it is firm.

6) Place in the fridge for an hour to set.

7) Put all the cream cheese into a bowl and stir so it is smooth.

8) Add the caster sugar and stir until nice and smooth.

9) In a different bowl whisk the cream until you get soft peaks. (This can take a while if doing my hand)

10) Add half of the cream to the cream cheese and fold it in.

11) Then add the other half and fold in.

12) Break the Mint Aero Bars into small pieces and melt over boiling water.

13) Add the Mint Aero melted chocolate to the Cream Cheese mixture fold in gently.

14) Once everything is blended together, spoon the mixture over the base and spread out.

15) Break up some Mint Matchmakers and place on the top of the mixture for decoration.

16) Place the cheesecake in the fridge and let it set for at least an hour. (I actually did mine overnight)

And that is it, you are left with a divine cheesecake. That went down a storm in our house. Mr L told me he didn’t like cheesecake and could not get enough of it. Baba liked it and I love it.

This is for Oui Chef over at Beckicklesie the challenge for November is Chocolate.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nic's Notebook
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 16:14:55

    yay for choc mint cheesecakes!! I have made one a couple of times before..so nice and I was surprised at how easy it was too! Yum Yum!

    Reply

  2. bubbleboo
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 12:10:09

    Oh this looks so good – I really wish I liked cheesecake!

    Reply

  3. Beckicklesie
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 09:28:04

    Seriously scrummy! Yum, yum!

    Love anything that combines chocolate and mint. This is sure to be a winner in our house.

    Thanks for entering and see you next month.

    Becca xx

    Reply

Leave a comment

Fitness Friday

Creative Writing e-course

British Mummy Bloggers

Slow Cooker Revolution

FlogYoBlog Friday

Judith’s Room

The Secret Post Club

The Gallery

Blog Gems

Dear So And So…

PenPal Club

Writing Workshop

Get Crafty

Play Academy

Silent Sunday

Silent Sunday